Castle Excursion

I was faced with the dilemna of what to this weekend as the weather forecast predicted good weather. With the exception of my second week here where temperatures were as high as 88,  the temperature has mainly been in the 60s, lowers  70s and 50s at nights.  This is cooler than I would like since I am a tropical girl but I did pack a few sweaters and jeans. With this said though I am looking forward to warmer and sunnier days.  Although I must say I am shocked at how little it has rained. I bought a trench coat and an umbrella in anticipation of heavy rain which has yet to fall and my trench and umbrella still have tags on.  The rain has been more of a light drizzle in the mornings or overnight. I am usually asleep so it has not affected me at all. The days are a bit cloudy at times but nothing to complain about, the vibrant city makes up for it.

Anyways, onward to my eventful day. I woke up with intentions of going downtown to Prague  1 and somehow entertaining myself until the sun goes down then heading over to the Žižkov Television Tower to savor in overhead night views of Prague since I’ve only been able to enjoy day views thus far.  That was my plan and boy was I determined to stick it. Fortunately or unfortunately, things don’t always go as planned. I ended up being caught up at the Prague Castle and too tired afterwards to go to the tower.

How did this happen?

I was able to reserve a spot for a free tour of the castle and the Lesser Quarter of Prague.  From my experience, guided tours has been the best way to meet other tourists and learn the history behind the attractions.  To my surprise I was the only person who showed up for the tour.  This allowed for a more personal and interactive tour but dreary at times because of my knowledge of history. Nonetheless, my tour guide was great.

We began the tour in the gardens leading up to the castle. This provided for gorgeous views of Prague as well as a very relaxing stroll.

Fountain in garden

Fountain in garden

Scenery

Scenery

The Castle actually looks like a modern palace rather than a castle. It is actually a string of palaces. The president occupies an apartment on the first floor and the other adjoining castles were the palaces of aristocrats. The entrances are guarded and the guards switch every hour. I was actually able to witness this. Pretty cool!

Me and one of the Guards, I was afraid to get any closer lol

Me and one of the Guards, I was afraid to get any closer lol

Castle Entrance

Castle Entrance

With in the general vicinity of the castle is St. Vitus Cathedral, the biggest church in the country. The gothic architecture is quite something. It contains the tombs of deceased kings.

Cathedral

Cathedral

Inside Cathedral

Inside Cathedral

At last, we stumbled unto the highly anticipated Golden Lane.  It was just about 5pm when admission is free so it was all of a sudden crowded with tourists but I braved the crowd to take a look. It is said that the famous writer, Franz Kafka, lived in house no.22.

Golden Lane

Golden Lane

Exhibition inside one of the houses

Exhibition inside one of the houses

No. 19, smallest house

No. 19, smallest house

The walk down the hill from Golden Lane was very tranquil and no doubt offered the best views I have seen thus far.  Particularly, the vineyard was an highlight for it. It is the oldest one in Prague.  One would ask did I taste the wine and the answer is no. My tour guide stated that it was not all that good and I was not willing to find out for myself since it was pricey.

Overall, it was a very eventful and exhausting day. I didn’t get to go to the tv tower as I would have liked to but I did get a great tour of the castle, saw the guards switching, visit the Cathedral, walk along Golden Lane and the vineyards. This is as concise as I could have made this blog without it being truncated.

Stay tuned for a video of the changing of the guards at the castle and more on my stay in Prague.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

