And I’m Off!!

Since I was already going to be in Prague for the summer I decided to do a guided tour of Europe also. I’ve always enjoyed traveling and wanted to do so much more of it but was unable to because of the limitations of being a student. Luckily, I was able to find a tour through a company that went to all the cities/countries on my bucket list and it was at a great price. I figured this is the best time to travel while I am still young, single and childless.

Moving on, first stop on the tour was London. My experience in London started off a bit rocky as the immigration officer gave me a hard time because she taught I was young and running away from home. One would think that the fact that she had my passport and access to my age that she would not make such a silly assumption. Also, why would I run away from America, go to Prague for a month and then England. That simply makes no sense. Adversely, my luggage almost got lost because it took me so long to clear immigration and by the time I was finished everyone had already claimed their luggage and mine was the only one still there prompting a worker to believing it was on the wrong carousel and removing it. After a few minutes of feverishly searching for it I finally saw a man walking towards me with it. If I had been 1 more minute late it would have ended up in the transfer pile according to him. Talk about dodging a huge bullet.

Of course it didn’t end there. Since it was my first time in London I made arrangements for a taxi to transport me to the hotel through the tour company for an extra $25. To my chagrin the taxi never showed up after I waited for about an hour. Finally, another taxi driver was nice enough to allow me to use his phone to call the company to find out what happened. Eventually, I had to book another taxi which took another 2 hours to show up. To say the least it was a very disappointing experience.

My tour officially began once I arrived at the hotel. To my surprise it was was a really posh and fancy hotel. I actually never heard of it before but was very pleased.

Novotel

Novotel

I was only in London for 1 full day so my excursions were limited. I did a taste of London evening cruise which was the best option since it highlighted the city’s major attractions. The cruise set sail along the famous Thames River. I was very familiar with the river as it was the opening setting in Charles Dickens novel that I read. I’ve also heard it referenced several other times so it was great to actually see and cruise along the river. London is cool but to be quite honest it has never been a must visit for me plus I didn’t spend that much time there so I do not have as much commentary.

Tower Bridge in the background

Tower Bridge in the background

Big Ben and Westminster Abbey

Big Ben and Westminster Abbey

London Eye

London Eye

Black taxi

Black taxi

To sum it all up, my experience in London was shaky at first but turned out to be not so bad in the end. The cruise on the Thames was very scenic as I did get to see the main attractions including the Shakespeare’s famous Globe Theater and the Dome of Saint Peter’s Cathedral. My only regret is not having time to visit Buckingham Palace but I guess that gives me a reason to return one day.

Leave a Reply

