Under the Tuscan Sun

Sunflowers! Sunflowers! Sunflowers!

Driving through the region of Tuscany was absolutely beautiful. The Tuscan region is filled with vineyards and miles of sunflower fields.The pictures and paintings that depict the region are not lying!! These fields go on for miles until you reach Florence.

Sunflower fields

Sunflower fields

Florence is the capital of the Tuscany region in Italy and the birthplace of the Renaissance. The Renaissance was a cultural movement in Europe that redefined art. Since it originated in Florence, what better place to see Renaissance style art than there. My intentions for exploring Florence were not to focus on the viewpoints or tourist areas but to simply admire the artwork. The architecture is very intricate and detailed. Since I am not an expert interpreter of art I will let the pictures do the talking lol :).

Church of the Holy Family in Florence

Church of the Holy Family in Florence

The Basilica di Santa Maria del Fiore

The Basilica di Santa Maria del Fiore

The Basilica di Santa Maria del Fiore

The Basilica di Santa Maria del Fiore

Besides the Renaissance style buildings, I was most excited to see Michelangelo’s David. I have loved the story of David since sunday school days so this was on my bucket list. I was unable to see the original due to time restrictions but I was able to see a replica which was still very impressive. Michelangelo was truly amazing in his depiction of biblical figures.

Replica of The David

Replica of The David

Art is not the only thing that Florence is known for. Apparently, one of the biggest things out of Florence is Pinocchio (besides Machiavelli of course). I actually did not remember this until I got to Florence and was bombarded with Pinocchio souvenirs and stores inspired that are inspired by the character. One store actually had a lifetime size wooden Pinocchio to take pictures with so naturally I had to :).

Pinocchio and I

Pinocchio and I

Pinocchio!!

Pinocchio!!

Italy being the home of many exclusive designer brands and high fashion I was very shocked to see vendors selling counterfeit goods in all the cities that I visited. These vendors are not strictly regulated or cracked down on because of the fear that they would then resort to pickpocketing. However, while in Florence I witness the police chasing a few vendors which subsequently led to their arrests and goods being confiscated. I was told that this was very rare and it was most likely because they broke an unwritten rule with the police.

Police

Police

From my trip to Florence I developed a greater appreciation for art. The sculptures and Renaissance style buildings captured my attention. I was not excited to go shopping or to go here to there like in the other cities. I just wanted to see and appreciate the artwork. The trip to Italy in general has tremendously expanded my knowledge of art and architecture.I can now intertwine art and history more clearly. I was unable to do so in the past.

Leave a Reply

