The Return to Medieval Times in Carcassonne

To experience the different French cities and towns, we made an overnight stop in Carcassonne. Carcassonne is very quiet and known for its Medieval feel and Castle. I really did not know what to expect as I had never heard of the place before but the purpose of my travels has been to explore as much of Europe as I could so I was looking forward to it.

Medieval Castle in Carcassonne

Medieval Castle in Carcassonne

Since we arrived late on a Sunday evening there was not much to do except explore the castle at night. Inside the castle was like a little town. It was filled with candy stores and restaurants.

candy store in Carcassonne Castle

candy store in Carcassonne Castle

Castle at night

Castle at night

IMG_6074

The castle provides a beautiful view of Carcassonne at night also.

View of Carcassonne from Castle

View of Carcassonne from Castle

Overall, Carcassonne is a great town if you are trying to escape the big city and crowd. It still has a medieval feel to it. It was a great slow down of pace for the tour.  Since it is so quiet and old it is not a tourist destination so I was happy to experience this for a change. It really made me appreciate the different places that I have visited. I probably would have never looked into visiting it on my own since I tend to go for bigger cities. But hey don’t knock it until you try it!

Leave a Reply

