Thirteen Years Later and One World Trade Center Once Again Dominates the New York Skyline

Today marks 13 years since the terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center. Even though thirteen years has elapsed, the day is still very solemn and gloomy for Americans. The victims of the horrific attack are now memorialized as the site is no longer “Ground Zero” since the Freedom Tower was erected and once again 1 World Trade Center dominates the New York skyline.

FreedomTower from West 4th Street

FreedomTower from West 4th Street

IMG_7289

Freedom Tower from Jersey

I remember 9/11 very vividly because it happened four months after I migrated to New York. It was my first week in the 5th grade. I remember thinking to myself what is the World Trade Center but once I saw the pictures my memory was rekindled. I had actually went on a cruise around the city two weeks prior and saw these two tall buildings and took pictures of them. I did not know what they were at the time but were intrigued by how tall they were. I was so grateful to have had the opportunity to see the towers. Now that I go to school just a block away from the site I am fortunate enough to see the beauty of Freedom Tower almost everyday and is constantly reminded of what a tragedy 9/11 was.

R.I.P to all the victims, firefighters, police officers, and first responders who lost their lives.

Leave a Reply

