Day Trip to Washington D.C.

In an attempt to procrastinate finishing my thesis, I decided to take a day trip to the nation’s capital, Washington D.C. Even though I have been to D.C countless times, the history geek in me always seem to learn so much and enjoy every trip.

Since my time was limited to only a couple of hours I focused on visiting the main attractions such as the White House, the Washington Monument and the Smithsonian which are all within walking proximity. The first stop was the White House but unfortunately there was no presidential sightings.

IMG_9190

IMG_9191

IMG_9189

The Department of Treasury is located just steps away from the White House and has a statue of Albert Gallatin, the longest serving Secretary of Treasury and Founder of my soon to be Alma Mater, New York University.

IMG_9187

I was most keen to see the Washington Monument which was built in honor of the first president, George Washington. The tower is obelisk and provides a great view of the National Mall and the metropolitan D.C area.

IMG_9218

IMG_9196

IMG_9200

From the Monument you can get a glimpse of the Capitol which is currently under construction which makes it peculiar to look at.

IMG_9221

IMG_9184-0

The Lincoln Memorial can also be seen in a distance from the Monument. The Memorial was built to honor the 16th President, issuer of the Emancipation Proclamation and the first president to be assassinated, Abraham Lincoln. Lincoln is one of the most iconic presidents.

IMG_9223

IMG_9222

Lastly, I headed over to the Holocaust Museum which is part of the Smithsonian. Those of you who have been following me since my trip to Europe last summer are probably aware that I am very interested in genocide studies so this was a must see. Unfortunately, the tickets for the permanent exhibition were sold out so I was only able to watch the films that were being shown. Nonetheless, they were very informative.

IMG_9224

Of course, I cannot forget the cherry blossoms (even though these weren’t the beautiful orchids typically found in D.C).

IMG_9226

Overall, it was a great getaway for the day. Since I have family in D.C and has been several times I visited all the museums in the Smithsonian, the White House, the Capitol, the Lincoln Memorial and the Washington Monument. Hence, the reason for the trip being a getaway from my thesis rather than for sightseeing purposes.

Leave a Reply

